Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP Catalunya Results: Three From Three

MotoGP Catalunya Results: Three From Three

MotoGP Results

Jorge Lorenzo became the first Yamaha rider to win three successive premier class races from pole position since Eddie Lawson back in 1986, when he took his fifth victory of his 2010 campaign at today’s Gran Premi Aperol de Catalunya.

The Mallorcan is now 52 points clear at the top of the championship standings as a result of his phenomenal run of form and his second win on home soil this season.

Dani Pedrosa made one of his trademark rapid starts from the second row to lead into Turn 1, but he then ran wide coming out and had dropped down to ninth by the end of the first lap. It was an error Pedrosa managed to recover from in the early laps however, as he quickly fought his way back to third.

Aleix Espargaró had a run-off as he pushed hard to move up the order and Andrea Dovizioso started a fight for the lead with Lorenzo on lap three when he overtook to move into first, but it was a lead Lorenzo regained on the next lap as the battle lines were drawn.

Running in third place, Casey Stoner ran off track shortly after and dropped to fifth as Randy de Puniet and Pedrosa came through. Espargaró then suffered disappointment in his home race when he crashed out on lap six.

Lap 14 proved to be an eventful one as first Marco Simoncelli crashed out of sixth place, as he chased his best premier class finish to date. Then, in a decisive moment for the race, Dovizioso also went down as he pushed himself when chasing Lorenzo at the front, rejoining the race in 15th place shortly after.

With that, Lorenzo was clear by just over 5.5s with less than half the race to go, and Stoner and Pedrosa began duelling for second place with de Puniet further back in fourth. Lorenzo’s lead proved to be too much and he crossed the line 4.754s clear to take his fifth win of the season. Pedrosa won the scrap for second by just two-tenths of a second from Stoner, as the podium of the previous round at Assen was repeated.

Fourth place and his best result of the campaign so far went to de Puniet after yet another impressive ride on the satellite RC212V of the LCR Honda team. In fifth with a superb ride was rookie Álvaro Bautista, as he produced a magnificent effort on his Rizla Suzuki GSV-R.

Ben Spies continued his progress with sixth place on another new circuit, and Loris Capirossi, Nicky Hayden, Marco Melandri – on his return from a dislocated shoulder and fractured sternum – and Héctor Barberá all finished inside the top ten, with Dovizioso eventually finishing 14th.


Pole 2010 Jorge LORENZO 1’42.046 166.8


Fastest Lap Lap: 3 Andrea


1’43.154 165.0 Km/h

Record Lap

2008 Dani PEDROSA 1’42.358 166.3


Best Lap 2008 Casey STONER 1’41.186 168.2


Lorenzo now has 165 points with Pedrosa on 113 in second. Dovizioso remains third on 91, with Hayden, de Puniet and Stoner all leapfrogging the absent Valentino Rossi to fill positions four to six.

MotoGP Results – Barcelona, Sunday, July 04, 2010

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Fiat

Yamaha Team

Yamaha 163.5 43’22.805
2 20 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol

Honda Team

Honda 163.2 +4.754
3 16 27 Casey STONER AUS Ducati


Ducati 163.1 +4.956
4 13 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA LCR

Honda MotoGP

Honda 162.3 +18.057
5 11 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Rizla

Suzuki MotoGP

Suzuki 162.1 +21.361
6 10 11 Ben SPIES USA Monster

Yamaha Tech 3

Yamaha 162.1 +21.503
7 9 65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Rizla

Suzuki MotoGP

Suzuki 161.9 +24.181
8 8 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati


Ducati 161.7 +27.941
9 7 33 Marco MELANDRI ITA San

Carlo Honda Gresini

Honda 161.7 +28.046
10 6 40 Hector BARBERA SPA Paginas

Amarillas Aspar

Ducati 161.4 +32.439
11 5 5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster

Yamaha Tech 3

Yamaha 161.1 +38.406
12 4 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Pramac

Racing Team

Ducati 159.9 +58.257
13 3 64 Kousuke AKIYOSHI JPN Interwetten

Honda MotoGP

Honda 159.2 +1’09.348
14 2 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol

Honda Team

Honda 157.8 +1’32.402
15 1 8 Wataru YOSHIKAWA JPN Fiat

Yamaha Team

Yamaha 157.7 +1’35.237
Not Classified

Carlo Honda Gresini

Honda 162.6 12 Laps
41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pramac

Racing Team

Ducati 160.7 20 Laps

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...