ESPN: Ryan Dungey Nominated for ESPY

Racing News

The current Supercross World Champion and AMA Motocross protagonist, Ryan Dungey, has been nominated by ESPN for a 2010 ESPY in the category of Best Male Action Sport Athlete.

The annual award show recognizes major sports achievements, leading performers and the Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider deserves the selection. The nominees were announced to the public by ESPN this afternoon.

This year has been an amazing motorcycling year for Dungey. He became only the second person in SX history, other then Jeremy McGrath, to win the hotly contested Supercross championship in his rookie season.

Dungey also played an instrumental part in winning the Motocross of Nations for Team USA. And he is currently leading the 2010 AMA Motocross Championship point standings four rounds through the season.

Dungey is performing at this championship level in only his rookie season in the premier 450 MX class after stepping-up from the 250cc class.

The ESPY Awards is an annual event where athletes from all sports join together to celebrate the best moments and performers of the year.

Seth Meyers will host this year’s event, which will be broadcast live on Wednesday, July 14, 6 – 8 p.m. (Pacific) at the Nokia Theater in downtown Los Angeles.

Fans determine the winners in nearly every category by voting online or by mobile device at or on the ESPN facebook page:

Final 2010 Supercross Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 363 (2010 Champion)
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 293
3. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 268
4. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 266
5. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 238
6. Josh Hill, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 233
7. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 197
8. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki, 186
9. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 183
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 177

Current 450 Motocross Championship Standings (Round 4)
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 171
2. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 135
3. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 131
4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 129
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 120
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 116
7. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 114
8. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 81
9. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 81
10. Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki, 81