News TT Zero: Moto Czysz Fastest Lap Ever

TT Zero: Moto Czysz Fastest Lap Ever

IoM TT News

Portland-based team Moto Czysz and rider Mark Miller confirmed their position as race favourites for the 2010 TT Zero Electric bike race at the Isle of Man TT races with a lap of 94.664mph.

The team recorded the fastest ever lap – albeit an unofficial lap record as it is not recorded during a race – for an electric bike around the famous mountain course, beating the 2009 race record of their closest challengers Team Agni who recorded 87.434mph average lap speed in winning the 2009 race.

Moto Czysz lead from the start of the practice and were already over 17 seconds ahead of their nearest challengers ManTTx (James McBridge) at Glen Helen with defending champion Rob Barber and Team Agni third fastest. Martin Loicht’s HTBLAUVA – XX Project, Kingston University (George Spence) and Mark Buckley and Team Ecolve were also timed at over 60mph

Team Agni passed the Manx team before Ballaugh but were unable to match the speeds of the Moto Czysz team who were clocked at 102.566mph to Ramsey, having been recorded at a speed of 131.1 through the Sulby Speed Trap. Barber’s Team Agni also clocked over 100mph at Sulby.

The Americans continued their impressive charge and were still just below the 100mph (99.974mph) at the Bungalow and eventually finished over 3 minutes ahead of their nearest challengers.

Team boss Michael Czysz believes that the team could still claim the £10,000 prize that the Isle of Man Government will award if a team can break the prestigious 100mph average lap speed around the course but acknowledges that it is an uphill task. Reflecting on their success to date he said:

“I’m really confident now with the bike and will happily not touch it now until the race. I think that the bike is capable of achieving the 100mph lap as we still have something in reserve but it will require everything going right on race day.”

Ten teams are participating in the 2010 TT Zero with SERT, the Swedish Electric Race team, unable to practice tonight due to a malfunctioning engine. New parts are being rushed to the Island ahead of Wednesday afternoon’s race.

Mon, 7th June TT Zero Practice – ALL LAPS PRACTICE

Pos No. Rider Machine/Entrant Lap Time Speed

1 3 Mark Miller MotoCzysz E1PC / MotoCzysz 23 54.84 94.664

2 1 Robert Barber Zero AGNI E1 / AGNI Racing 27 03.00 83.689

3 4 James McBride Man TTX / Man TTX Racing 28 00.74 80.815

4 12 Martin Loicht Htbluva XX Project / Martin Loicht 34 13.64 66.140

5 9 George Spence Peter Williams / Kingston University 41 25.82 54.641

6 7 Mark Buckley Ecolve / Ecolve 46 13.93 48.966

Photos by:

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...