Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP Mugello: Sunday Guide

MotoGP Mugello: Sunday Guide


• Valentino Rossi misses the race after making a record 230 successive Grand Prix starts, having competed in every Grand Prix event since making his debut in the 125cc class at the Malaysian Grand Prix in 1996.

• If a Yamaha rider wins the MotoGP race it will be the 55th victory for Yamaha’s four-stroke MotoGP machine, equalling the number of wins by Honda in MotoGP.

• Dani Pedrosa starts from pole for the second time this year. Pedrosa has won just three times from the previous fourteen poles he has had in MotoGP: the last time he won from pole was at the final event of 2007 in Valencia.

• Jorge Lorenzo has won the last two MotoGP races from second place on the grid. Lorenzo could become only the second Spanish rider to take three or more successive premier-class Grand Prix victories. The other is Alex Criville who won four successive 500cc races in 1999.

• Casey Stoner will be aiming to finish on the podium for the first time since he won in Malaysia last year.

• Nicky Hayden starts from fourth on the grid, equalling his best qualifying result since he joined the Ducati factory team, at the German Grand Prix last year.

• Fifth on the grid is Colin Edwards – his best qualifying result so far in 2010.

• Randy de Puniet starts from sixth place on the grid for the third successive race. De Puniet maintains his record of being the top qualifying non-factory rider at every MotoGP race this year.

• Ben Spies is seventh fastest qualifier, which is his best MotoGP grid position riding a Yamaha.

• Andrea Dovizioso’s third place finish in the 250cc race in 2006 is his only podium at Mugello.

• In ninth place on the grid is Aleix Espargaro – his best qualifying result since moving up to the MotoGP class.

• Mugello is one of just three current circuits where Hiroshi Aoyama has not had a podium finish during his years of racing in the 250cc class


• Andrea Iannone starts from pole for the first time since he was top qualifier in the 125cc class at the Czech GP last year. Iannone will be aiming to be the first rider to win a Moto2 race from pole position.

• A win for Toni Elias, would make it three successive victories for the first time in his Grand Prix career. Elias has not had a podium finish at Mugello in any class of GP racing.

• Alex de Angelis will be aiming to score points for the first time this season, having crashed in Qatar and Le Mans and failed to start at Jerez due to injury.

• Jules Cluzel starts from fourth on the grid for the second successive race.

• Eighth on the grid for Axel Pons is a great improvement on his previous best qualifying which was 16th place on the grid at the last race of 2009 in Valencia.

• Mattia Pasini, who won the 250cc race last year at Mugello, is making his 100th Grand Prix start.

• Joan Olive is scheduled to become the fourth youngest rider to reach the milestone of 150 GP starts, after Dani Pedrosa, Marco Melandri and Alex de Angelis.

125cc GP

• Spanish riders have won the last thirteen Grand Prix races in the 125cc class

• Sandro Cortese has qualified on pole for just the second time in his GP career. His other pole was at Assen last year when he crashed out of the race on the 5th lap.

• Second on the grid, Pol Espargaro has won the last two races having started from second place on the grid.

• Bradley Smith, the winner at Mugello last year, starts from the front row of the grid for the first time this year.

• Nico Terol has finished on the podium at the first three races of the year. Terol finished second last year at Mugello, after qualifying down in 12th place on the grid.

• Heading up the second row of the grid is Randy Krummenacher, who has not had a top ten finish in his three previous appearances at Mugello.

• Marc Marquez has failed to qualify on the front row of the grid for the first time since he was 6th on the grid at the Australian GP last year.

• Esteve Rabat has not had a point scoring finish at Mugello during his Grand Prix career.

Metzeler Sportec M9 RR Motorcycle Tires First Look (6 Fast Facts)

Upgraded from the highly regarded M7, the Metzeler Sportec M9 RR tires promise to provide high-level performance for sportbikes in both wet and dry...

2020 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard First Look (6 Fast Facts)

Aiming at both budget-minded big-inch cruiser fans, as well as serious customizers, the new 2020 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard is all about presenting buyers with...

2020 Arlington Supercross Results and Coverage: Tomac Victorious

Despite finishing in P5 after a poor start in Main Event 1 of the Triple Crown format, Eli Tomac stormed back to win back-to-back...

Fantasy Supercross Tips: 2020 Arlington – Tomac, Roczen, Webb

It’s time to get in your picks for fantasy supercross—a fun and simple way to make the races just that much more exciting....

ScorpionExo Abrams Riding Shirt and Gloves Review: Comfort and Safety

The days of wearing an unprotective cotton shirt for a comfortable ride are over. The ScorpionExo Abrams riding shirt uses cotton as the basic...

I’ve Got Gas! Should it Be High or Low Octane for My Motorcycle?

The mythical, magic number of motor fuel: Octane. What does it mean for your ride? Over the years, I’ve heard a lot of conflicting views...