Isle of Man TT: Who’s Fastest Qualifier?

IoM TT Report

John McGuinness heads into the final session of the 2010 Isle of Man TT practice week leading the challenge to be fastest qualifier.

The Mountain Road is scheduled to close at 5pm from Ramsey Hairpin to the Creg-ny-Baa, with the rest of the course shut by 6pm, for the Friday evening session. The first machines are expected to leave the TT Grandstand at 6.20pm, with the sidecars getting the final session under way, and the solos are expected out at around 7.50pm.

McGuinness, 15 times a winner at the TT, is leading the challenge for the fastest solo practice lap, and the prestigious Graham Award for that feat – a special limited edition Chronofighter Espace TT Watch, complete with Triskelion emblem, courtesy of Graham Watches, the TT’s official timing partner.

While McGuinness leads the way with his 130.242mph lap set on Wednesday evening, a number of the leading contenders are breathing down his neck and any one of nine or 10 riders is capable of overhauling his time.

The HM Plant Honda rider is closely followed by Padgetts racers Ian Hutchinson, who recorded a time just 0.137 slower in Thursday’s practice.

Guy Martin, Conor Cummins, last year’s Graham Award winner Cameron Donald, Keith Amor and Adrian Archibald have all also gone over 128mph.

As well as completing any last minute fine-tuning, tonight’s session will again give the solo riders the chance to practice the new speed restricted pit lane ahead of the first race, the PokerStars Superbike TT tomorrow.

In the sidecars, Dave Molyneux and Patrick Farrance have posted the fastest times every night apart from Monday, when his closest challenger Klaus Klaffenbock topped the first timed session.

TT Qualifying Tweets…

The Chequered Flag is being shown to all competitors, ending practice for the 2010 TT. Racing commences tomorrow at 12 noon. 

Olie Linsdell does 117.829mph on his Moto2 bike.

Michael Dunlop is also fastest in the Supersport, so far at 126.395mph.

Michael Dunlop sets the fastest lap of the week in the Superstock at 128.324mph.

Hutchinson unofficially breaks the Superbike Lap Record with a lap of 130.614mph. McGuinness’ record set in 2009 is 130.442mph

Michael Dunlop first 600cc at 125.340mph

Hutchy first through 130.234mph, and on to a second lap. Conor Cummins 129.405mph.

Anstey and Lougher are first away in this final practice session which will run through Pit Lane – They are away!

The Chequered Flag is displayed for the Sidecars, only five crews decided to go for a second lap. Holden did 112.244mph.

Klaffi first to complete a lap at 113.508mph, and pulls in, however Holden does 113.058mph and goes for another lap.

The Supersport Class was headed by Keith Amor at 124.797mph

Ian Hutchinson fastest this evening the Superbike, Ian Hutchinson 130.165mph.

Quickest Sidecar Dave Molyneux & Patrick Farrance at 115.464mph

Fastest Superstock this evening, Michael Dunlop 127.111mph

The Chequered flag is being shown to all riders, last man to leave the Pit Lane, Cameron Donald, with 5 seconds to spare.

McGuinness through Sulby at 191.200mph!

Hutchy breaks the 130 barrier with a lap at 130.165mph.

Hutchinson first to complete a lap at 128.303mph, but Amor was quicker at 128.691mph. Cummins 128.354mph.

Conor Cummins quickest through Sulby at 188.00mph