Electric Motorcycles TTXGP Infineon: Zero-Carbon Race Results

TTXGP Infineon: Zero-Carbon Race Results

TTXGP Results

Shawn Higbee took the historic victory on Sunday at Infineon Raceway in the TTXGP U.S. Championships, marking the first-ever zero-carbon motorcycle race in the United States.

The 11-lap race featured eight riders, with Higbee (Zero Motorcycles-Agni) taking the checkers by more than 13 seconds over Michael Barnes (Lightning Motorcycles). Mike Hannas (Electric Race Bikes) was third.

The series debuted globally in 2009 at the Isle of Man in Europe with Zero-Agni also taking the win.

Shawn Higbee says: "I think this could turn into something big. It’s going to introduce a whole new industry to motorcycling," Higbee said. "The engineers are a whole new breed. I’m surprised at how close we are to gas bikes already. The lack of vibration is a new experience, you just glide along."

Infineon Raceway was the perfect setting for the historical race. You can see some great Infineon TTXGP race video clips here.

"When you have the first of anything, you never fully know what to expect, but the bikes were fast, the racing was competitive and the spectacle of speed with no engine noise was truly remarkable," said Steve Page, president and general manager of Infineon Raceway.

"Who knows where this can go as the technology develops, but we will always be proud to have hosted the first event and hope we’ve planted an acorn that can help grow the concept of green performance throughout the industry."

Best Average Speed: 59.905 mph
Best Speed: 71.416 mph
Track distance 2.320 miles

TTXGP Race Results

1. 22 Shawn Higbee Zero/Agni 25:33.626 11 1:56.948 Pos. No. Team Constructor Points
2. 80 Michael Barnes Lightning 25:51.784 10 2:01.457 1 22 Zero/Agni 25
3. 15 Mike Hannas ElectricRaceBike 26:44.237 10 2:08.587 2 80 Lightning 20
4. 23 Jennifer Bromme Werkstatt 26:57.716 10 2:15.103 3 15 ElectricRaceBike 16
5. 14 Kenyon Kluge K Squared 29:54.606 10 2:16.393 4 23 Werkstatt 13
6. 18 Zoe Rem Pril Motors 27:51.617 9 2:41.026 5 14 K Squared 11
7. 16 John Wild Square Wave 26:21.047 8 2:44.726 6 18 Pril Motors 10
8. 20 Jason Lauritzen EMS 26:24.765 8 2:12.375 7 16 Square Wave 9

DNF 19 Spencer Smith Volt Motors 24:41.432 9 2:18.965 9 19 Volt Motors
DNF 37 Thad Wolff Team Electra 09:51.966 3 2:06.709 9 37 Team Electra


1 22 Shawn Higbee 25
2 80 Michael Barnes 20
3 15 Mike Hannas 16
4 23 Jennifer Bromme 13
5 14 Kenyon Kluge 11
6 18 Zoe Rem 10
7 16 John Wild 9
8 20 Jason Lauritzen 8
9 19 Spencer Smith –
9 37 Thad Wolff – 

The TTXGP U.S. Championships was part of the West Coast Moto Jam at Infineon Raceway, which also featured AMA Pro Road Racing, Flat Track, Supermoto USA and Flat Track. 

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...