Superbike Statistics: Monza to Kyalami


World Superbikes came within tenths of the average speed record. The new design of the first chicane at Monza, together with a performance increase, allowed Max Biaggi to obtain pole with a time of 1 minute 42.121 seconds at an average speed of 203.653 km/h (126.544 mph).

This is the second all-time value for Superbikes, behind the record set by Colin Edwards at Hockenheim, 2000 with a lap time of 2’00.022" at an average speed of 203.723 km/h (126.587 mph).


> Second career double for Max Biaggi, who also scored his maiden pole in his 89th race. Aprilia hadn’t set a pole position since the 2002 Sugo races (Haga);

> With second place in race 1 James Toseland reached Pierfrancesco Chili in the seventh all-time spot for podium finishes and ended his 150th race in the points. At the top of the ranking lies Troy Corser, with 282 races in the points;

> Maiden podium for BMW, the ninth manufacturer to climb on the podium. At the top of the chart lies Ducati, with 720 podium places obtained in 442 races;

> It was the 129th podium for Troy Corser, who hadn’t recorded one since the 2008 Portimao races, when he was third in race 1. Thanks to this result Troy has the unique distinction of having scored podiums with six different manufacturers: Ducati, Aprilia, Petronas, Suzuki, Yamaha and BMW. This record is nearly unbeatable as Chris Walker follows with podiums scored with four different manufacturers, while among the active riders Toseland, Haslam, Haga and Biaggi are all on three;

> In race two Cal Crutchlow scored his maiden fastest race lap;

> Best performance for Luca Scassa, for the first time inside the top-10 both in qualifying and at the end of the races;

> In the Supersport class, Eugene Laverty set the new record for consecutive races in the points, nineteen. The Irishman has been in the points since the 2009 Phillip Island race;

> In Superstock 1000 Ayrton Badovini equalled the all-time record sequence of wins of Xavier Simeon, with four. Ayrton became the twelfth rider in history to post a "grand slam" (pole, win, fastest lap and entire race in the lead);

> Maiden podium in Superstock 1000 for Daniele Beretta;

> Maiden pole and maiden podium for Federico d’Annunzio in the Superstock 600 class.


> 1999: 50th win for Carl Fogarty, the first rider to reach this milestone. In Superbike history, only Bayliss has been able to score more than 50 wins. The final balance for the duo is Fogarty 59, Bayliss 52;

> 2000: first pole position for Aprilia scored by Troy Corser;

> 2001: first pole position for Ben Bostrom;

> 2009: maiden podium for Jonathan Rea.