Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport MotoGP Test: Pedrosa Fast & Crash

MotoGP Test: Pedrosa Fast & Crash

Test Recap

Although the stands went from full to empty after Jorge Lorenzo took the win at Jerez Sunday, the MotoGP teams didn’t pack up and leave – they remained for post-GP test on Monday, hoping to improve their prototype machines.

And the fastest rider? Round two’s pole-sitter, Dani Pedrosa. The Repsol Honda RC212V rider who finished second in Sunday’s Spanish Grand Prix posted the quickest time of 1:39.425 after completing 60 laps. The Spaniard’s time was just 0.233 seconds slower than his pole time.

This was not without incident as the Repsol Honda Team Spanish rider had a slight crash, without any physical injury, at turn 10 due to a loss of grip on the front wheel of his bike, after a big slide at the rear.

Nine-time World Champion Valentino Rossi crashed during the testing, but returned to pilot his Fiat Yamaha M1 to 1:39.480, just over a half second off Pedrosa’s time. Rossi, who finished third in Sunday’s race, is still recovering from a motocross training accident, and struggled with set-up all weekend.

After riding 71 laps, Sunday’s winner Lorenzo was third quickest in the test session, just 0.026 seconds behind his teammate Rossi. Fourth fastest was LCR Honda rider Randy de Puniet, and fifth went to Pedrosa’s teammate, Andrea Dovizioso, who experimented with a new swingarm, the same type that Pedrosa used during Sunday’s race.

The only other rider to fall besides Pedrosa and Rossi during the Monday test was Rizla Suzuki rider Alvaro Bautista.

MotoGP Jerez Tests Results (May 3, 2010)

1. Dani Pedrosa, Repsol Honda, 1:39.425
2. Valentino Rossi, Fiat Yamaha, 1: 39.480 + 0.055s
3. Jorge Lorenzo, Fiat Yamaha, 1:39.506 + 0.081s
4. Randy de Puniet, LCR Honda, 1:39.609 + 0.184s
5. Andrea Dovizioso, Repsol Honda, 1:39.760 + 0.335s
6. Casey Stoner, Marlboro Ducati, 1:39.786 + 0.361s
7. Nicky Hayden, Marlboro Ducati, 1:39.906 + 0.481s
8. Ben Spies, Monster Tech 3 Yamaha, 1:39.958 + 0.533s
9. Loris Capirossi, Rizla Suzuki, 1:40.040 + 0.615s
10. Colin Edwards, Monster Tech 3 Yamaha, 1.40.042 + 0.617s
11. Marco Melandri, Gresini Honda, 1:40.129 + 0.704s
12. Marco Simoncelli, Gresini Honda, 1:40.370 + 0.945s
13. Mika Kallio, Pramac Ducati, 1:40.446 + 1.021s
14. Alvaro Bautista, Rizla Suzuki, 1:40.463 + 1.038s
15. Hiroshi Aoyama, Interwetten Honda, 1:40.470 + 1.045s
16. Aleix Espargaro, Pramac Ducati, 1:40.686 + 1.261s
17. Hector Barbera, Aspar Ducati, 1:40.932 + 1.507s

The next, of the limited 2010 MotoGP tests, will occur on the day after the Cardion AB Moto Grand Prix of the Czech Republic on August 16th, 2010.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Helmet Use by U.S. Motorcyclists Trends Higher in Past Decade

Could the availability of better helmet options be part of the reason? According to the U. S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration...

Editor’s Letter: A Very Merry Christmas When I Became An ‘Authentic Motorcyclist’

At the end, my parents handed me a small package. I opened it up, and it was a little booklet. It had pictures of a motorcycle.

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...