News TT Privateers Championship: 70 Racers

TT Privateers Championship: 70 Racers

IoM TT Road Race

The Isle of Man TT Races organizers have confirmed that over 70 motorcycle racers who have entered to compete in the TT Races this year are eligible for the inaugural TT Privateers Championship.

The TT Privateers Championship is a new introduction to the TT Races honors board. It allows solo teams and solo riders of independent status to achieve recognition for their efforts at the highest level in the world’s premier closed public roads motorcycle race.

The championship entry criteria have been clearly defined by the race organizers, who require all teams to declare that they have no direct manufacturer assistance. Each entry is judged on the ability and career to date of the rider, the bike that they are riding, and the operation, resources and structure of the team.

Any rider who has finished within the top 10 in any solo race at the previous year’s TT is automatically ineligible. Points will be awarded to the first fifteen finishers in the Superbike, Royal London 360 Superstock, Monster Energy Supersport and the Dainese Senior TT Races using a world championship points scoring system.

Riders competing for the award include TT stalwarts Gary Carswell, James Mcbride and Ian Armstrong, former MGP winner Derek Brien, winner of the 2009 clean emissions race Rob Barber, the up and coming Olie Linsdell and star newcomers from 2009 Steve Mercer and Luis Carreira.

Other riders expected to make the running include Australian Dave Johnson and South African Hudson Kennaugh, both newcomers in 2010, together with Jenny Tinmouth and Maria Costello, the two fastest women around the course.

The prestigious award also comes with £2,000 (~$3,200 USD) for the first placed rider with £1000 (~$1,600 USD) for the runner up and £500 (~$800 USD) for third place.

Geoff Corkish, MBE, MHK, Political Member for Isle of Man Tourism, says: "The efforts and sacrifices made by individuals to compete in the TT Races are well known. We wanted to recognize those achievements with an award that was open only to privately funded teams and riders."

Breitling Top Time Deus Limited Edition Watch First Look

“Bikers, boarders, surfers, digital nomads,” Breitling CEO George Kerns observes, “this is a timepiece for dynamic people of action, purpose, and style. Our versatile...

86 Gear Motorcycles Yamaha XT630 Supermoto: Restomod Special

Sometimes the route to a custom build is a short one. An idea pops into a builder's head, and the process begins. Other times,...

Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha Sign E-Motorcycle Battery Agreement

Get ready for the Swappable Batteries Consortium for Motorcycles and Light Electric Vehicles made up of Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha. The goal is...

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...