News 2010 Dakar Stage 13 | Video

2010 Dakar Stage 13 | Video

Dakar Stage 13 Results

Click video to see the highlights from Stage 13 of the 2010 Dakar as the Norwegian Pal Ullevalseter won the motorbike stage of the race.

The victory took Ullevalseter (KTM) into second place in the overall standings, leapfrogging the Chilean Francisco Lopez who finished 5min 35sec behind the Norwegian in fourth place on his Aprilia.

"A fantastic stage for me. I started third and after 40km I was in the lead," said Ullevalseter.

"Today was a route for big bikes. We could really attack and in the last hours I was riding at more than 160km/h. It’s perfect!"

France’s KTM rider Cyril Despres, 43sec behind Ullevalseter in second place, continues to enjoy a healthy lead of 1hr 4min at the top of the motorbikes general classification.

"There was only a small section of sandy tracks and about 20 km of sand dunes. It’s always a pleasure to ride that," said Despres.

"It is much easier to stay focused when you drive a bit fast.

"I trust my KTM and my tires. I knew I would drive fast and it would be fine."

Spain’s Marc Coma, another KTM rider, finished third on the day, 2min 46sec off Ullevalseter’s pace.

Coma was handed a controversial time penalty of six hours for illegally changing a wheel during the seventh stage and is now 6hr 32min behind Despres in the overall standings.

Portugal’s Helder Rodrigues (Yamaha) remains fourth overall, with Frenchmen David Fretigne (Yamaha) and Alain Duclos (KTM) fifth and sixth respectively.

2010 Dakar Stage 13 Results
1. Pal Ullevalseter, Norway, KTM
2. Cyril Despres, Andorra, KTM (at 43′)
3. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM (at 2’46")
4. Francisco Lopez, Chile, Aprilia
5. Alan Duclos France, KTM

2010 Dakar Standings after Stage 13
1. Cyril Despres, Andorra, KTM
2. Pal Ullevalseter, Norway, KTM (at 1:04’12")
3. Francisco Lopez, Chile, Aprilia, (at 1:08.34)
4. Helder Rodrigues, Portugal, Yamaha
5. David Fretigne, France, Yamaha
15. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....