News 2010 Dakar Stage Eleven (11) | Video

2010 Dakar Stage Eleven (11) | Video

Dakar Stage Eleven (11) Results

Click video to see the highlights from Stage Eleven (11) of the 2010 Dakar as Verhoeven wins the motorcycling section for BMW.

Verhoeven edged out American Jonah Street by three seconds while Frenchman Cyril Despres, seventh on the stage over four minutes in arrears, remained comfortably in the overall lead with just three stages remaining.

"I’m very happy to be here at the end of the stage. I had a lot of difficulties during the first two or three days," said Verhoeven.

"We’re here with a brand new bike, it’s a BMW, and we didn’t really know that much about it so we sort of jumped into the deep end with it.

"Now everything is under control, the bike is running much better and I’m getting used to riding a 450."

Despres, whose main pre-race rival for the title Spaniard Marc Coma saw his chances disappear last weekend when he was penalised six hours for illegally changing a tyre, has a lead of one hour and 20 minutes over Norwegian Pal Ullevalseter.

"It was a nice stage again. The organisers have really done a great job," said Despres, winner of two Dakar titles.

"It was quick today, 220km in a flash. Was I being extremely careful? No. When I climb on the bike, I just can’t hold myself back. I just want to have fun."

Chile’s Francisco Lopez retains third place overall while the big loser of the day in terms of a podium finish was Portugal’s Helder Rodrigues, who held on to fourth place but lost six minutes on Ullevalseter.

2010 Dakar Stage Eleven (11) Results
1. Franz Verhoeven, Netherlands, BMW
2. Jonah Street, USA, KTM, (at 0’3")
3. Alain Duclos, France, KTM
4. Pal Ullevalseter, Norway, KTM
5. Francisco Lopez, Chile, Aprilia
7. Cyril Despres, Andorra, KTM (at 4’21")
9. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM (at 5’08")

2010 Dakar Overall standings after Stage Eleven (11)
1. Cyril Despres, Andorra, KTM
2. Pal Ullevalseter, Norway, KTM (at 1 h 20’54")
3. Francisco Lopez, Chile, Aprilia
4. Helder Rodrigues, Portugal, Yamaha
5. Alain Duclos, France KTM
16. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally First Look (12 Fast Facts)

There is going to be a 2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally, in Europe, at least. We’re getting our first look at these two...

2021 KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

Every autumn, like Charlie Brown in the pumpkin patch, we await the arrival of the KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition. Well, we're getting our...

Lieback’s Lounge: Winter Romance in the Basement

I love the holidays, but there’s one element that destroys "the most wonderful time of the year," and that's "The Vanishing of the Motorcycles."

The Comprehensive Vintage Motorcycle Price Guide: 2020-2021 Edition [Review]

The Comprehensive Vintage Motorcycle Price Guide: 2020-2021 Edition is a worthy resource for classic and vintage motorcycle lovers.

2021 Isle of Man TT Canceled [Classic GP Still On So Far]

The Pandemic of 2020 has not only caused the cancelation of the 2020 Isle of Man TT. On Monday, the Isle of Man Government...

2021 World Superbike Schedule First Look: 13-Round WSBK Calendar

The 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship calendar is now public, and it is planned to be a 13-round affair. Government restrictions in reaction to...