2010 Dakar Stage Eight (8) | Video

Dakar Stage Eight (8) Results

Click video to see the highlights from Stage Eight (8) of the 2010 Dakar. Pending validation by the race stewards, Chilean Francisco Lopez Contardo gave a 2nd special stage victory to the Italian constructor Aprilia on the 32nd Dakar, his 3rd personal triumph in the event. With a time of 5.29:25, "Chaleco", as he is known in the bivouac, beat Spaniard Marc Coma (KTM) by 42" and Norwegian Pal Anders Ullevalseter (KTM) by 1’22.

The consequences for the general standings, dramatically shaken by the 6-hour penalty handed out yesterday to Marc Coma for illegal assistance on the 7th special, are that Frenchman Cyril Despres remains very comfortably out in front with a lead that now stands at 1.20:31 over Norway’s Ullevalseter, the new 2nd-placed rider, and 1.24:21 over Chilean Francisco "Chaleco" Lopez.