MotoGP Sunday race guide Indy

Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix – Sunday 30 August


• For the sixth time this year a Spanish rider is starting from pole in the MotoGP class – none of the previous five poles has resulted in a victory.

• Dani Pedrosa starts on pole for the second time this year, bringing to an end a run of seven successive poles for Yamaha. Pedrosa has not won from pole position since the last race of 2007 in Valencia.

• Having already won at Laguna Seca, Dani Pedrosa could replicate the achievement of Rossi last year and win two MotoGP races in the USA in a single season.

• Second on the grid, Jorge Lorenzo, has maintained his record of qualifying on the front row at every race in 2009.

• Taking the final front row slot, Valentino Rossi is starting from his lowest grid position since he was fourth fastest qualifier at Mugello. If Rossi finishes sixth or better he will become the first rider ever to reach the milestone of 3000 career points in the premier-class of Grand Prix racing.

• Fourth on the grid for Alex de Angelis is his best qualifying result since moving up to the MotoGP class at the start of last year.

• Colin Edwards will be starting from fifth on the grid, which equals his best qualifying results of the year, which he has already achieved three times in 2009.

• Nicky Hayden’s second place finish last year at Indianapolis is the best result he has had since his world championship winning year of 2006.

• Colin Edwards, Chris Vermeulen and Alex de Angelis are the three riders who have scored points at every MotoGP race so far in 2009.

• Aleix Espargaro, making his debut in the MotoGP class, has qualified less than two seconds from the front row of the grid. At just 20 years and 31 days old he is the youngest Spanish rider ever to compete in the MotoGP class.


• The winner of the race will enter the record books as the only winner of a 250cc GP at Indianapolis before the class is replaced by Moto2 next year.

• Mike di Meglio starts from pole for the first time since moving up to the 250cc class at the start of this year.

• This is the first pole in the 250cc class by a French rider since Randy de Puniet was the fastest qualifier for the Portuguese Grand Prix in 2005.

• Hiroshi Aoyama’s second place on the grid is the ninth time this year he has been on the front row.

• Third on the grid, Marco Simoncelli will be aiming to be the first rider this year to take back-to-back wins in the 250cc class.

• Fourth fastest qualifier, Hector Barbera, is starting from the front row for the seventh successive race.

• Jules Cluzel will be starting from fifth on the grid, which equals his best ever qualifying performance that he achieved at the third race of the year at Jerez.


• Julian Simon starts from pole for the fifth time this year. From his previous four poles in 2009 he has only gone on to finish on the podium twice – second place in Qatar and a win in Germany. This is Simon’s first race at Indianapolis, as last year he was due to compete in the cancelled 250cc race.

• Sandro Cortese, who has qualified on the front row for the third time this year, is still looking for his first top five finish since he was third at the opening race of the year in Qatar.

• Third fastest qualifier, Nico Terol, scored his first ever Grand Prix victory last year at Indianapolis.

• Fourth on the grid, Pol Espargaro, starts from the front row for just the second time this year – his other was at the Catalan GP. His second place finish last year at Indianapolis equalled his best ever Grand Prix result.

• Sixth on the grid is the best qualifying result so far this year for Simone Corsi.

• Aprilia have won the last twelve races in the 125cc class – their longest ever sequence of successive wins. If any Aprilia rider finishes either first or second in the race, it will give Aprilia their ninth constructors title in the 125cc class.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.