Scott Parker inducted into Motorsports Hall of Fame

Harley-Davidson flat track racing legend Scott Parker was joined by other racing notables including Kenny Bernstein, David Hobbs, Les Richter, Al Unser, Jr., H.A. "Humpy" Wheeler and Joe Weatherly as inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America during an inspirational and emotional ceremony on Wednesday, August, 12, 2009 at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Parker rode Harley-Davidsons for 21 years amassing 94 wins and a record nine dirt track championships. He is the only rider to have been named American Motorcyclist Athlete of the Year three times.

In addition to those being honored, several racing notables took part in the proceedings. Track announcer Jim Mueller served as master of ceremonies. Hall of Fame hydroplane racer Mira Slovak read the stirring patriotic "My Creed" by Dean Alfange. Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, whose Lucas Oil Co. supporter nearly every form of motorsports, were on hand.

At this year’s Induction Ceremony, the list of presenters was nearly as impressive as the list of those being honored. Speed Channel’s Bob Varsha introduced Hobbs. Harley-Davidson’s Willie G. Davidson presented Parker. Roger Penske inducted Richter. Hall of Fame stock car legend Ned Jarrett presented and accepted on behalf of Weatherly. Long-time racing broadcaster Ken Squier introduced Wheeler. NHRA President Tom Compton presented Bernstein, and four-time Indy 500 champ Al Unser inducted his son.