Motorcycle Racing News Yates and May talk Superbike Superpole Mid-Ohio (photo)

Yates and May talk Superbike Superpole Mid-Ohio (photo)

Round 8 of the AMA Pro Racing National Guard American Superbike Championship kicked off today at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course with Michael Jordan Motorsports (MJM) riders Aaron Yates and Geoff May capturing the teams’ highest combined qualifying positions of the season. During late Friday afternoon’s Superpole session, Yates and May set down the second and third fastest times, and for the second time this season give MJM two of the four front row positions. This also marks the first time this season that MJM has been the highest qualifying Suzuki team, which serves to highlight the showroom potency of the new 2009 Suzuki GSX-R 1000.

A rain shower hit the Lexington, Ohio track a few hours prior to Superpole, which cast doubt over the running of the session. The sun soon reappeared, however, and track staff quickly got the surface ready to go. The tricky Mid-Ohio track was "green" and a slower race course greeted the American Superbike riders as they headed out for a 10 minute warm-up session immediately preceding Superpole.

Though laptimes were slightly affected, there was still a great deal of excitement on the track as some major reshuffling went on as riders jockeyed to set the top 10. One of the riders to benefit was #54 Geoff May, who entered Superpole in fifth and jumped up two positions to third with his Superpole lap of 1:26.564. #23 Aaron Yates entered Superpole in P2 and left in the same position on the grid.

Aaron Yates Speaks… (2nd 1:26.469 – Jordan Suzuki #23)

"It’s nice to put the Jordan Suzuki up here on the front row," said Yates. "The track was a bit more slippery than it was this morning so our times weren’t as fast, but I was able to put a decent one together and get the #23 in a good starting position for Saturday and Sunday’s races."

Geoff May Speaks… (3rd 1:26.564 – National Guard Jordan Suzuki #54)

"I’m glad to be back in the mix after my off-weekend at Laguna," May said. "We’ve gone back to square one with the front end of the bike and it’s moved us forward here at Mid-Ohio. I just sat down with the crew post-Laguna and we went over everything. This is a good track to be on the front row and I’m looking to getting the National Guard Jordan Suzuki back on the podium tomorrow."

Superpole Results:

1) Josh Hayes – #4 Yamaha 2) Aaron Yates – #23 Jordan Suzuki 3) Geoff May – #54 National Guard Jordan Suzuki 4) Tommy Hayden – #22 Suzuki 5) Michael Laverty – #8 Suzuki 6) Blake Young – #79 Suzuki 7) Ben Bostrom – #2 Yamaha 8) Larry Pegram – #72 Ducati 9) Mat Mladin – #7 Suzuki 10) Jake Holden – #59 Honda

Valentino Rossi 2019 Misano Helmet Revealed (22 Photos)

Rossi Shows off Drudi-designed AGV Pista GP R at San Marino GP It’s time for the Octo San Marino and Riviera di Rimini Grand Prix,...

2019 San Marino MotoGP Results (Updated Daily): Qualifying

2019 San Marino MotoGP Qualifying Results Except for Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez leading the fourth and final MotoGP free practice Saturday of the San Marino...

2020 Harley-Davidson Low Rider S Review (11 Fast Facts)

2020 Harley-Davidson Low Rider S Review Not seen since the demise of the Dyna line, the Harley-Davidson Low Rider S returns as a Softail with...

2020 Indian Thunder Stroke 116 Lineup First Look (9 Fast Facts)

2020 Indian Thunder Stroke 116 Lineup Revealed The much-rumored Indian Thunder Stroke 116 is here. It will be powering seven 2020 Indian models in the...

2019 Portugal World Superbike Results: Rea/Bautista Split Wins

Kawasaki's Jonathan Rea and Ducati's Alvaro Bautista split wins at the 2019 Portugal World Superbike round, Rea leaving with a 91-point advantage.

AMA Partners with EagleRider: Initiation Fee Waived

A new benefit announced by the American Motorcyclist Association provides members with easy access to the Club EagleRider program.