Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP racing stats and facts Sachsenring circuit

MotoGP racing stats and facts Sachsenring circuit

Although the current circuit has only been used for GP racing since 1998, the Sachsenring has a long tradition as a Grand Prix venue and below are some facts and figures from the previous events held there:

>> The East German Grand Prix of 1961 was the first world championship event to be held at the Sachsenring. The original circuit used for this event was on closed roads, 8.73km in length.

>> The East German GP continued to be held at the Sachsenring each year until 1972, after which the circuit was considered too dangerous for Grand Prix racing. Huge crowds attended these events with race day attendances being estimated in some years at greater than 300,000.

>> After a gap of 25 years, racing returned to the Sachsenring at a newly built circuit in 1998, which was initially just 3.508km long with one short section of track from the old road circuit. Major modifications to the circuit in 2001 and then additional slight alterations in 2003 resulted in the current 3.671 km track layout.

>> Valentino Rossi is the rider with most victories at the new Sachsenring circuit with 4 wins (1x 250cc, 3 x Moto- GP), followed by 3 each for Marco Melandri (125 x 1, 250 x 2) and Dani Pedrosa (2 x 250cc, 1 x MotoGP).

>> Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP class in 2002, Honda have been the most successful manufacturer with four wins, followed by Yamaha with two and Ducati who had their first victory last year.

>> Suzuki’s only victory at the Sachsenring circuit was in the 500cc class in 1999 with Kenny Roberts. Chris
Vermuelen’s 3rd place finish last year was the first podium for Suzuki’s four-stroke MotoGP machine at the

>> The best results for a Kawasaki in MotoGP at the Sachsenring are the 6th place finishes achieved by Shinya Nakano in both 2005 and 2006.

>> Since Grand Prix racing returned to the Sachsenring circuit in 1998 there have been three podium finishes by home riders: Ralf Waldmann was third in the 250cc race in 1999, Steve Jenkner was third in the 125cc race in 2002 and Stefan Bradl finished 2nd in the 125cc category last year.

>> The 2006 MotoGP race produced the closest top four of all-time in the premier-class with just 0.307 seconds covering the first four riders across the line.

>> Three riders have competed at all of the previous eleven Grand Prix events held at the new Sachsenring circuit: Valentino Rossi, Marco Melandri and Roberto Locatelli.

2021 Houston 2 Fantasy Supercross Tips (19 Fast Facts)

Looking at the results of the opening round of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series, I’m reminded of what futurist Jamais Cascio said,...

Team RB Freestyle Randie and Birdman Motorcycle Stunt Riders

Hello Rider Readers, It’s Randie Raige of Team RB Freestyle here! Come take an inside look at tandem stunt riding with me. That’s right, two...

2021 Aprilia Tuono V4 Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The Aprilia Tuono V4 has earned a reputation for being an uncompromisingly high-performance upright sportbike. Note that we didn’t say naked, as it has...

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...