MotoGP stats and facts for Catalunya


• Yamaha riders have taken the top two places on the grid for the first time since the Chinese GP last year when Edwards was on pole and Rossi second.

• Jorge Lorenzo starts from pole for the 7th time in the MotoGP class. On the six occasions when he has started from pole in MotoGP he has won just once - in Portugal last year. Lorenzo will be racing for the first time in the MotoGP class at Catalunya having missed the race last year after crashing in practice. Lorenzo will be aiming to take his first MotoGP victory at home in

• Valentino Rossi starts from second place on the grid - his first front row since the Japanese GP. Rossi has finished on the podium at the Catalan GP every year since winning the 125cc race back in 1997.

• In third on the grid, Casey Stoner has maintained his record of qualifying on the front row at every race in 2009.

• Fourth place on the grid equals Andrea Dovizioso's best qualifying result of the year which he achieved at the opening race in Qatar.

• Toni Elias has qualified 5th, which is his best grid position since he was also 5th fastest qualifier at Misano last year. Elias has not completed a race at the Catalunya circuit since moving up to the MotoGP class in 2005.

• Dani Pedrosa has not stood on the top step of the podium since the Catalan GP last year, which was also the last MotoGP victory for Honda.

• James Toseland will be starting from 9th place on the grid - his best qualifying result so far in 2009.

• Suzuki have not had a podium finish at Catalunya since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP class in 2002.

• Gabor Talmacsi becomes the first Hungarian rider to race in a premier-class Grand Prix since Janos Drapal at the Czech GP in 1976. The last Hungarian to score points in the premier-class was Arpad Juhos, who finished 9th at the East German GP in 1972.


• The first five races of the year in the 250cc class have been won by five different riders (Barbera, Bautista, Aoyama, Simoncelli and Pasini)

• With thirteen riders qualifying within one second of pole, this is the closest 250cc grid since the French GP last year.

• Hector Barbera starts from pole for the first time since the San Marino GP last year at Misano.

• Alvaro Bautista maintains his record of starting from the front row at every race in 2009. Bautista will be aiming to take his first win in Spain since moving up to the 250cc class.

• Marco Simoncelli won the Catalan Grand Prix last year from Bautista and Barbera who had both qualified faster than him.

• Thomas Luthi will be starting from the front row for just this second time this year. Luthi scored his first ever GP podium at the Catalunya circuit in the 125cc class back in 2003.

• Steve Bonsey will be making his debut in the 250cc class to become the first American rider to take part in a 250cc GP since Chuck Sorensen raced in Valencia in 2002 as a wild-card.


• This is the first time since the Valencia GP in 2006 that Spanish riders are 1st and 2nd on the grid for a 125cc GP.

• Julian Simon starts from pole for the third time this year. Simon has never finished a Grand Prix higher than 8th at the Catalunya circuit. Simon has never finished on the podium at any of the three Spanish circuits used in MotoGP.

• Pol Espargaro starts from the front row for the first time since the Malaysian GP last year.

• Fifteen year-old Jonas Folger becomes the second youngest rider ever (after Scott Redding) to qualify on the front row for a Grand Prix race.

• Randy Krummenacher, who is making his 40th GP start, has qualified on the front row of the grid for the first time.

• Following his win at Mugello, Bradley Smith could become the first British rider to take back-to-back GP wins in any solo class since Barry Sheene in 1977. Barry Sheene was also the last British rider to take back-to-back GP wins in the 125cc class in 1971.

• Andrea Iannone's 11th place finish in 2005 is the only time that he has scored points in his four Grand Prix starts at the Catalunya circuit.

• Aprilia riders have won the last seven 125cc Grand Prix races. Another win for Aprilia at Catalunya and it would become their longest ever sequence of successive 125cc GP victories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.