MotoGP racing stats and facts for Catalunya

This will be the 18th successive year that the Circuit de Catalunya has been used since it was first included in the World Championships in 1992.

Below are some significant facts and figures from the previous seventeen events:

>> Only four venues have a longer current sequence of hosting Grand Prix events: Jerez, Mugello, Donington
and Assen.

>> Honda have been the most successful manufacturer in the premier-class at the Catalunya circuit with eight
victories. During the four-stroke MotoGP era, Honda and Ducati have both had two wins and Yamaha have
had three.

>> Loris Capirossi’s victory at Catalunya in 2003 was the first premier-class win for Ducati.

>> Suzuki have had just a single victory at the Catalunya circuit – in 2000 with Kenny Roberts riding the 500cc
bike. Suzuki’s best result with their four-stroke MotoGP machine has been 4th in 2006 and 2007 with John

>> Over the last seven years the only rider to win the MotoGP race at the Catalan GP from pole position is
Valentino Rossi in 2006.

>> Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider across all Grand Prix classes at the Catalunya circuit with eight
victories (1 x 125cc, 2 x 250cc, 5 x MotoGP/500cc).

>> There have been four premier-class victories by Spanish riders at the Catalunya circuit; Alex Criville in 1995
& 1999, Carlos Checa in 1996 and Dani Pedrosa last year.

>> There has been at least one Spanish rider on the podium in six of the last seven years: Carlos Checa (Yamaha) 3rd in 2002, Sete Gibernau (Honda) 3rd in 2003, 2nd in 2004 & 2005, Dani Pedrosa 3rd in 2007 and
winner last year.

>> The MotoGP race at the Catalan GP in 2007 is the closest race since the introduction of the 800cc capacity
limit with just 0.39 seconds covering the three podium finishers: Stoner, Rossi and Pedrosa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.