Motorcycle Racing News Le Mans: forty years of motorcycle grand prix racing

Le Mans: forty years of motorcycle grand prix racing

The Le Mans circuit has a great history of Grand Prix racing and first hosted a GP event forty years ago. Below are some facts and figures from GP racing at Le Mans:

>> This will be the 22nd occasion that a Grand Prix event has been held at the Le Mans circuit, including ten
successive occasions from 2000.

>> The first time the Grand Prix was held at Le Mans was on the 18th May 1969, when the main race was won by Giacomo Agostini, who lapped all the other riders in the race on his MV Agusta. The highlight of the event for the home crowd was the victory in the 125cc race by Jean Aureal (Yamaha), the first ever victory in the class by a French rider.

>> In addition to Jean Aureal’s win in 1969 there have been three other wins at Le Mans by the home riders. In 1979 Guy Bertin (Motobecane) won the 125cc race and Patrick Fernandez (Yamaha) won the 350cc race. Last year, Mike di Meglio (Derbi) won the 125cc GP at Le Mans on his way to taking the world title.

>> Randy de Puniet is the most successful French rider in the 250cc class at Le Mans with four successive podium finishes between 2002 and 2005. Other French riders who have finished on the podium in the 250cc class at Le Mans are; Olivier Jacque (2000), Dominique Sarron (1987), Thierry Rapicault (1983) and Patrick Fernandez (1979).

>> There have only been two French riders finish on the podium in the premier-class at Le Mans; Raymond Roche was 2nd in 1985 and Christian Sarron finished 3rd in 1987.

>> The three riders who have had the most victories at the Le Mans circuit are Dani Pedrosa (2 x 250cc, 1 x 125cc), Freddie Spencer (2 x 500cc, 1 x 250cc) and Valentino Rossi (3 x MotoGP).

2021 Houston 2 Fantasy Supercross Tips (19 Fast Facts)

Looking at the results of the opening round of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series, I’m reminded of what futurist Jamais Cascio said,...

Team RB Freestyle Randie and Birdman Motorcycle Stunt Riders

Hello Rider Readers, It’s Randie Raige of Team RB Freestyle here! Come take an inside look at tandem stunt riding with me. That’s right, two...

2021 Aprilia Tuono V4 Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The Aprilia Tuono V4 has earned a reputation for being an uncompromisingly high-performance upright sportbike. Note that we didn’t say naked, as it has...

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...