Dainese Renews with Isle of Man TT Races for 2009

Dainese renew TT involvement as Official Safety Partner for 2009.

Dainese has today announced that the company has been appointed the ‘Official Safety Partner’ to the Isle of Man TT Races for 2009. As part of the significant deal, the first of the TT’s Superbike races will be known as The Isle of Man Dainese Superbike Race.

The Italian company, which specialises in safety products for active sports enthusiasts was founded in 1972 by the current managing director, Mr Lino Dainese, who enjoyed his first visit to the Isle Of Man in 2008 when Dainese first became involved at the Safety Partner.

"It was a great pleasure to visit the Isle Of Man last year with my friends Giacomo Agostini, Carl Fogarty and Marco Lucchinelli and see first hand the heroics of the brave TT riders," commented Lino Dainese – "In 2008, we went to the Isle of Man TT as part of our Dainese 35th anniversary celebrations. It was the first time we had been involved in this incredible, legendary race. Our aim, as Safety Partner, was to use our experience to contribute to rider safety, and we are proud to continue our relationship for one more year". Martyn Quale, MHK, Minister for Tourism and Leisure, Isle of Man Government, commented: "We are delighted to have Dainese back again as the official safety partner of the TT races as it is a company with a fantastic heritage. They contributed hugely to last year’s great event and I know they have benefited from their association with the TT."

Last year Dainese signed a deal with TT star and road racing specialist, Guy Martin. The 26-year-old Lincolnshire rider, who was cursed with bad luck in 2008 is thrilled to be continuing his involvement with Dainese. "This is a huge honour," he said. "I’ll be doing everything I can to win this year."

Martin will be wearing a AGV helmet for the first time this year and will join all-time greats in the ‘legends of protection’ who have been protected head-to-toe by Dainese and AGV – Barry Sheene, Giacomo Agostini and the reigning 250cc World Champion Marco Simoncelli and the eight-time World Champion and current MotoGP title holder, Valentino Rossi.

Back to News Home