Monster Energy Supercross Heads to Salt Lake City

Governor Huntsman to Ride Monster Energy® Supercross Race Track at Thursday's Media Day.

Feld Motor Sports announced today that Utah Governor Jon Huntsman will speak at a press conference Thursday, April 23 at 11:00 a.m. to welcome back Monster Energy® Supercross, an FIM World Championship, to Salt Lake City's Rice-Eccles Stadium for the first time since 2004. The Salt Lake City race will take place Saturday, featuring the AMA Supercross class title chase between James Stewart and Chad Reed and the final race of the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class championship between front runners Ryan Dungey and Jake Weimer.

Following the press conference, Governor Huntsman will join Honda Red Bull Racing's Ivan Tedesco, Davi Millsaps and Andrew Short; Yamaha's Josh Hill and Broc Hepler; Muscle Milk/MDK/KTM's Ryan Sipes and Justin Brayton on a celebratory lap of the race track that will be built with more than 500 truckloads of dirt in Rice-Eccles Stadium.

"It's terrific that one of the premier motor sports events in the world is coming back to Utah that will not only showcase our state to a nationally televised audience, but will also provide an estimated $9 million in economic impact and $1 million in media value to Utah as well," said Governor Huntsman.

Jeff Robbins, president and CEO of the Utah Sports Commission added, "Having Monster Energy® Supercross back at Rice-Eccles Stadium is another major accomplishment for us as we continue to establish Utah as one of the top action and extreme sport destinations in the world."

The first supercross race held at Rice-Eccles Stadium took place in 2001 where 42,135 packed the home of the 2002 Olympic Opening and Closing Ceremonies to watch Ricky Carmichael race to victory. Carmichael holds the all-time AMA Supercross win record in Salt Lake City with two. Stewart holds the all-time AMA Supercross Lites class win record at Salt Lake City with two.

Past Winners in Salt Lake City

AMA Supercross Class
April 24, 2004: Kevin Windham
April 26, 2003: Chad Reed
April 27, 2002: Ricky Carmichael
April 28, 2001: Ricky Carmichael

AMA Supercross Lites Class
April 24, 2004: Ivan Tedesco
April 26, 2003: James Stewart
April 27, 2002: James Stewart
April 28, 2001: Ernesto Fonseca

Back to News Home




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.