Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport AMA Supermoto Opening Round Results | Fontana, CA

AMA Supermoto Opening Round Results | Fontana, CA

Monte Frank Puts the Husaberg FE 570 on the Supermoto Podium.

At the opening round of the XTRM / AMA Supermoto series, a change in racing plans paid off for Monte Frank, who put the all-new revolutionary fuel-injected Husaberg FE 570 on the podium in the Pro Unlimited class.

"The funny thing about this bike is I didn’t plan on racing it in Supermoto. I bought it for a trail, MX, fun bike. I decided two weeks before California to race it," Frank said after his third-place Pro Unlimited result. "I have a 2006 KTM 560 SMR that I raced in ’06 and I took the forks and wheels off that bike and rode the Berg completely stock."

Frank, an Oklahoma City native, decided to make the Supermoto switch to the Husaberg after a few trail rides and motocross sessions near his home. "I told a lot of people that this was one of the best bikes I had ever ridden and I have been racing since 1988," Frank said after his career-best Supermoto finish. "So I decided to put the Supermoto parts on it and went to my local Supermoto track and set a new track record on the Husaberg FE 570. The bike is just so easy to ride, it does all the work."

Now that Frank has proven the radically new Husaberg is a contender in the Supermoto series, he’s ready to prove it’s a winner too. "The Husaberg FE 570 is amazing right out of the box. I can’t wait for the rest of the AMA Supermoto season. I really think I can be on the box a lot more. I have been training my butt off and I finally have a bike that is letting me show my potential. Once I get a few parts on the bike I think there is a good chance everyone will see the new Husaberg 570 with a win in 2009."

The XTRM / AMA Supermoto season continues May 16-17 in Sonoma, Calif., at Infineon Raceway. This is a combined event and will feature round two of the Amateur Grand Championship as well as the pro national.

Next Event: Infineon Raceway, May 16-17, 2009

Overall Results AMA Pro Unlimited:

1. Kurt Nicoll – KTM
2. Steve Drew – KTM
3. Monte Frank – Husaberg
4. Justin Ross – KTM
5. Josh Chisum – KTM
6. Craig Peyron – KTM
7. Doni Wanat – KTM
8. Matt Stewart – Husqvarna
9. Dustin Sullivan – KTM
10. Chris Kemp – KTM

Back to News Home



2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...